Massa Doesn’t Believe Kubica And Di Resta Are Right For Williams Seat

Amidst uncertainty over his replacement for a race seat at Williams F1 Team, Felipe Massa has said that he doesn’t think both Robert Kubica and Paul Di Resta are credible enough to replace him and take Williams forward.

While Kubica’s testing sessions with Renault and Williams have gone well, Massa believes that Kubica’s past injuries come back to haunt him.

f1-malaysian-gp-2017-felipe-massa-williams-5710950.jpgPhoto : Glenn Dunbar – LAT Images

“I cannot do what he’s doing, driving with only one hand”, said Massa speaking about Kubica. “It’s impossible for me to believe that he will not suffer with some of the races with this car that we’re driving that is a lot more difficult physically.

“I really respect what he’s doing, and what he’s doing is just amazing. But it’s impossible to believe that he will not have some issues.”

Meanwhile, Massa believes that given his lackluster performances in DTM, Paul Di Resta isn’t the most credible potential Williams driver either.

“I don’t believe he’s the right driver for the team to develop the car and show the results and everything” Massa said about Di Resta. “Plus I mean, I don’t think he’s doing a great job in what he’s racing as well. Anyway I’m not here to complain or say about anything, that’s only my opinion.”

Speaking about a possible end to his F1 career at the end of this season, Massa added : “I’m quite relaxed thinking about my job, thinking about my car. The time for being frustrated is passed already in my career.

“I have zero frustration. As I’ve said before, I did a lot more than I expected. So if it needs to finish, it’s the time. If it doesn’t need to finish, it’s because maybe something is still reserved.”

Feature image : Glenn Dunbar – LAT Images

– Aditya Bhat.

Leave a comment