Giovinazzi “Trusts” Ferrari To Put Him On The 2018 F1 Grid

Ferrari’s reserve driver Antonio Giovinazzi “trusts” Ferrari to take care of his F1 future and is confident that they shall find a way to get him in an F1 race seat for the 2018 season.

Having been last year’s GP2 runner up, Giovinazzi has stood in for the injured Pascal Wehrlein at two Grands Prix this season in F1 and is also scheduled to take part in seven FP1 outings with the Haas F1 Team.

saa.JPGPhoto : Andrew Hone – LAT Images

“The target of course is to be there in a race drive next year”, he said. “But for now I focus on what I’m doing now, these seven FP1s.”

If a Ferrari race seat doesn’t become available for Giovinazzi next season or if Ferrari prefer someone else, opportunities could open up for the young Italian drivers at other teams on the F1 grid like Haas and Sauber who are engine customers of Ferrari.

“To get in F1 is really hard”, Gio commented. “There are only 20 seats for the whole world, so it’s not like football. This is my first season in Ferrari, they are really good and I trust them. They know what they can do for me.

“Now it’s time to focus on what they gave me for this year, seven FP1s and then we’ll see what happens next year. Everything can happen. I hope I find a seat next year.

“I think it’s too early to know, still July. To be honest, I don’t want to focus too much on what I’m doing next year. Maybe in September we will see what we do next year.”

Feature image : Sutton Images

– Aditya Bhat.

Leave a Reply

