Kubica To Do Another F1 Test, Says 80-90% Chance Of F1 Return

Following his private F1 test with Renault in Valencia last month where he did very well, Robert Kubica has said that there’s an 80-90 percent chance of him making a comeback to F1 racing.

Kubica was one of the fastest fan favourite drivers of the last decade until he suffered severe injuries to his right hand in a rally crash in 2011.

Since the start of this year, Robert Kubica has been testing various cars such as Formula E, GP3, various sports cars and F1 in order to suss out an opportunity to return to F1.

Given his impressive performance in his Valencia F1 test where he drove 2012 spec Lotus Renault, it is being reported now that Kubica has secured himself a second test with the Renault F1 Team at a currently undisclosed location.

vintage-goodwood-festival-of-speed-2017-robert-kubica-lotus-renaultPhoto : JEP – LAT Images

“If you asked me how much I was realistically thinking that coming back to F1 was possible before the test, I would have put myself up to 10 or maximum 20 percent chance”, said Kubica talking to Auto Express.

“But now after the test, because I’m very realistic and I’m keeping my feet on the ground, I’d put it at 80 or 90 percent.”

Talking about his mindset pre and post the Valencia test, Kubica said : “You build up your own question marks, based on how you know yourself and your body, and then if you’d asked me about them even after the first run at Valencia, they were gone, gone, gone, gone.

“Then it becomes much easier than I thought. This gives you good confidence and puts you in a completely different level of trying to have a better feeling in the car and better performance.

“Once my comfort, or let’s say limitation things were gone in three laps, I could concentrate on trying to get back to the proper rhythm. I’m surprised how it felt. It felt for me like I hadn’t driven for one month, not six years.”

Feature image : Renault F1

– Aditya Bhat.

Leave a Reply

