Oliver Rowland Talks F1 Aspirations

Current Formula 2 title contender and Renault Sport F1 development driver Oliver Rowland has said that F1 teams need to be giving young drivers and that he sees “no reason” why he shouldn’t be looking at an F1 seat for the 2018 season.

“I’ve been in the Renault factory a lot, behind closed doors, I think we have a good relationship and you know, it’ll come down to me doing a good job in F2, if I have a chance to get that seat”, said Rowland.

“But I don’t see any reason – up against anybody, I think I can be as quick as anybody and I’ve showed that I’m consistent, so I don’t see any reason why I can’t be in the frame.”

fia-f2-monaco-2017-oliver-rowland-dams.jpgPhoto : FIA Formula 2

When asked if there was a lack of opportunities for proven young drivers to show what they can do in F1, Rowland said : “It’s just, in my opinion, the fact that the teams need to give younger drivers a chance.

“All we need is one chance to show if we’re good enough.

“I think sometimes you get the break like Esteban Ocon did, but he did a good year in F3 and GP3. I took the gamble to go straight from Eurocup to 3.5, which is a big step. Sometimes you get a bit lucky, and sometimes you don’t, but I think me and Pierre Gasly (reigning GP2 champion) have proved ourselves against the likes of Ocon.”

“If Max [Verstappen] never got the chance, who knows..”, said Rowland citing an example of a young driver being given a chance to go directly from F3 to F1, and going on to do very well.

“Maybe if he’d gone to F2 and the team’s one second off, you can’t do one second, it’s not possible.

“Just need to be given the opportunity, really. Both myself and Pierre [Gasly], because I think we can do a much better job than some of the people already in there.”

Feature image :  FIA Formula 2

– Aditya Bhat.

 

Leave a Reply

