Pastor Maldonado said no to a 2017 F1 race seat offer

In a rather interesting turn of events, the face of F1’s most popular meme Pastor Maldonado has claimed that he had an offer from a team to race in F1 in 2017, but he had to turn it down because it wasn’t competitive.

15947471_303.jpgPhoto : Picture Alliance – DPA

“I have the experience and I had opportunities to come back here this year”, said Maldonado speaking to Motorsport.com, “I was quite close to coming back but I decided not to. But if I don’t have any good feeling, if I don’t have any guarantees to do in the good way, it’s better to stay away – so I turned them down.”

Talking about the options of a future return to F1, Maldonado said : “It’s quite tough, there is up and downs in the economy and hopefully soon we can get out of this situation and the country will be strong again.

“I discovered there is something more interesting than F1 in life. It’s not everything, but I’m missing it because I dedicated my entire life to motor racing – I started when I was six.

“I don’t think it’s important. A return is still possible,  it’s not the only sponsor. I’m not here because I don’t want to be right now.

“When I wake up and decide ‘Okay, it’s time to go back’, I will.”

tumblr_n5sfqo2ksq1sgcr0ao1_500-56aa534c4af23.jpgPhoto : Car Throttle

Before you dismiss his claims of having been approached as a funny little false incident, you have to keep in mind that Venezuelan oil and gas company PDVSA sponsor Pastor Maldonado to up to $50 million a year. Most midfield and back marker teams would gladly have him in their teams, just for that.

Perhaps the race seat offer didn’t come with insurance.

– Aditya Bhat.

Leave a Reply

